Meet the Senbatsu that Fate has Created

Yesterday, fate has selected the few, chosen members to be in the next AKB48 single through a game of Janken (Rock, Paper Scissors). Once again, it ended up being a jumbled bag of epic proportions. Are you ready?!

Here are the senbatsu members:

1. Shinoda Mariko (Team A)
2. Fujie Reina (Team K)
3. Minegishi Minami (Team K)
4. Kobayashi Marina (Kenkyuusei)
5. Akimoto Sayaka (Team K)
6. Oya Shizuka (Team A)
7. Maeda Ami (Team A)
8. Sato Sumire (Team B)
9. Hikawa Ayame (NMB Kenkyuusei)
10. Umeda Ayaka (Team K)
11. Kasai Tomomi (Team B)
12. Kuwabara Mizuki (SKE Team S)
13. Kojima Haruna (Team A)
14. Yamaguchi Yuki (NMB Team N)
15. Yamauchi Suzuran (Team 4)
16. Kitahara Rie (Team B)

Not bad eh? You see some returning victors from last year’s Janken single like Sato Sumire, Maeda Ami, Kojima Haruna, and Kasai Tomomi(luck is strong with these four) and some insane surprises like Shinoda Mariko as center, with Fujie Reina and Minegishi Minami right behind her.

Akimoto Sayaka was pitched against Maeda Atsuko and Sayaka won, making this the first single to not have Maeda Atsuko featuring in the history of AKB, but luckily, Sayaka made it all the way to the end into the top eight.

Most of my personal hopes were dashed (Miyazaki Miho, Takahashi Minami, and Shimada Haruka), but I’m pretty excited about this group performing the next entry in AKB’s lineup.

I absolutely loved Shinoda’s center dance formation in ‘Beginner’, so I’m excited to see her be the face of the next single. Seeing her tall stature leading all the members will be a sight. What do you guys think, any predictions about what the next single may be like, or what kind of song you think would fit?


About Dae Lee

-Dae, aka Mizu -Writer, broadcaster, and podcaster on New School Kaidan

Check Also

New PV Alert: NMB48 – Hatsukoi Shijo Shugi

Getting together in smart street fashion and performance outfits of blue and white, NMB48’s 22nd …