This week in music 03.19.2014

This week’s featured releases come from Juice=Juice, SKE48 and Yokoyama Rurika.


Juice=Juice – “Hadaka No Hadaka No Hadaka No Kiss / Arekore Shitai!


Okay, let’s get this week’s featured releases underway with the new single from Juice=Juice. Another double a-side, I hate that this is still a thing, blah, blah, blah. Anyway, we have two pretty different songs on offer here. “Hadaka No Hadaka No Hadaka No Kiss” is some kind of…flamenco style song? I’m not sure. On the other hand, “Arekore Shitai!” is your more standard Hello!Project pop song. Can’t say you’re not getting variety with this one. Having said that, this single could be a tough sell if were really into Juice=Juice’s last few releases. I know it was for me anyway. After a few plays though I think the songs are starting to grow on me.


SKE48 – “Mirai to wa?


Next up we have what I suppose is the marquee release for this week. SKE48 everybody, sounding more and more bland with each passing single. I dunno man, remember when we got singles like “Banzai Venus” and “1! 2! 3! 4! Yoroshiku!“? Those were the days, right? I liked those songs a lot anyway. Back to the matter at hand…that’s it really. I’m not sure what else to say about this single. My opinion is quite literally that I don’t care about it. I’ll probably forget what it even sounds like in a few months. I’m not happy about that when it concerns my favorite 48 group but that’s just how it is I suppose.


Yokoyama Rurika – “Lapis Lazuli”


Okay, let’s see if I can end this on somewhat of a positive note. Oh hey, Yokoyama Rurika. She does some pretty good solo music right? This guy right here thinks she does and now that she’s releasing her first solo album you guys have no more excuses not to see what she’s all about. I mean come on, Hyadain writes a lot of her music so it must at least be pretty decent, no? The album has all 3 of her solo singles (“Walk My Way“, “Your Voice, My Life” and “Mega Lover“) as well as 10 other songs and assorted nick-nacks depending on which version you buy. Go pick it up.



“Bitter & Sweet / Install” by Bitter & Sweet
Beautiful Girl” by Candy Kiss
“Colorful Pop” by E-Girls
“Power of Wind” by Fudanjuku
Five Color x Mirror Mirror” by G☆Girls
“Yakusoku No Capsule” by Nato☆Kan
Love -arigatou-” by Rev.from DVL
Movin`on Mirai” by SiAM&POPTUNe
Haru Ga Kite Bokutachi Ha Mata Sukoshi Otona Ni Naru” by Sunmyu
Love Tochigi” by Tochiotome25
Ashita e no Sotsugyou” by X21

Okay so maybe you didn’t care for any of the featured releases. That’s okay, I have a few more things you might be interested in this week. Those would be Bitter & Sweet’s self-titled debut single, “Five Color x Mirror Mirror” by G☆Girls (because I have a thing for Nagai Rina), SiAM&POPTUNe’s “Movin`on Mirai” and finally, Tochiotome25’s first album “Love Tochigi”. Is that enough? Can I go now? Awesome, until next week.

If you missed any of the last few weeks’ worth of new music you can check out past editions of This Week in Music here.

What new music are you looking forward to this week? Leave a comment and let us know!

About NSK

New School Kaidan is a community-focused website for the Japanese idol industry international fan base. Between podcasts, broadcasts, events, and analytic articles, New School Kaidan aims to bring an understanding of idol culture to the masses.

Check Also

New PV Alert: E-girls – Cinderella Fit

Back with a 23rd single, E-girls get things started with their promotional video for “Cinderella …